The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy

Year of Publication: 1998

Genre: Fiction

The God of Small Things has come to be a favorite book by so many bloggers. In fact, I have heard so many good reviews about it and so that motivated me to pick up this book. Moreover, I have read a couple of books written by Indian writers and I loved them. Why not give this a try? I said to myself and that is how I ended up reading this book.

Before I started this book, I was thrilled by the quote I read from the opening pages by John Berger. The quote says: ‘Never again will a single story be told as though it’s the only one.’

I will leave you to gnaw and chew on this quote as it really prepares the mind of the reader. I love this quote, anyway.

Reading the entire book, I came to admire the style of Roy. Her style of the written word is so refreshing and in itself inventive. Her descriptions, I own them to her craftsmanship because I noticed the uniqueness with which sentences were constructed. If there is anything to go by, I strongly believe that the strongest strength of this novel is the style and the language in which it was written. There is a major play on words and that give this book a major advantage. However, there were times where readability became somehow obscure because words would be jam-packed together, capricious capitalization of words in sentences you wouldn’t expect. Although these may be deliberate and as a result of the influence of the characters, I found it overly used. That notwithstanding, it is these same descriptions that brings out the beauty of the novel.

The title of the book almost tells what occurs in the story – that – it is the very small things in daily life that builds up to become big. The central setting of the story is Ayemenem in India and the story revolves mainly around the twin siblings; Rahel and Estha and their mother who has been divorced from a rich family, and the death of Sophie Mol who is the twin’s cousin and then other minor characters come into play to build up the plot.

Again, this is one story that needs to be read at a slower pace or perhaps with a great deal of attention as you’ll find the story move forth and backwards with time and coupled with flashbacks here and there.

Overall, this is a beautifully written story and I share the opinion that it deserves the Booker Prize as well as all those hype given to it. Highly Recommended!

9 Responses to The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy

  1. I have always thought of the author as a man. My bad. This novel is on my reading list and with time I would get to her.

    • Geosi says:

      I may want to agree with you that upon first look the name sounds so but not…this is a good read though and has generated so many good reviews around the world. Hope you get to it soon.

  2. Linda says:

    Geosi, thanks for this post. This has been added to my wish list.

  3. Hi Geoffrey,
    You are really doing great. keep it up. Never and ever be discourage. This is the beginning of great things. i wish you more strenght in your endeavours. Take care.

  4. amymckie says:

    I’ve heard a lot about this book but have yet to read it. Sounds like a good book, thanks for the review. And I really like that quote as well :)

  5. Dr.Ashok Kumar Singh says:

    The God of Small Things – a story of non linear episodes written in a unique language of non linear sentences and multilingual words and phrases.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

