Two Thousand Seasons – Ayi Kwei Armah

 

Year of First Publication: 1973

Genre: Fiction

One of my motivations for reading this book was that I

undoubtedly enjoyed reading Fragments, The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born and The Healers all written by Ayi Kwei Armah. First published in 1973, the 317 page edition I reviewed is published by Per Ankh.

‘We are not a people of yesterday. Do they ask how many single seasons we have flowed from our beginnings till now? We shall point them to the proper beginning of their counting. On a clear night when the light of the moon has blighted the ancient woman and her seven children, on such a night tell them to go alone into the world. There, have them count first the one, then the seven, and after the seven all the other stars visible to their eyes alone.’

The above is the first paragraph that begins the novel. One of the surest ways of biting deep into the mind of the narrator is to pay close attention to the beginning chapters of the novel. From the onset, the narrator uses ‘We’ to demonstrate that she is part of the people, that she is not aloof, that she forms part of the whole. In essence, whatever be the outcome of the novel, whether it ends on a sad note or on a blissful one, the narrator is with them.

Again, from the second line of the same paragraph above, the narrator affirms that ‘they’ do not have a clear understanding of ‘we’ and so she points out to ‘them’ to go and ask the ancient woman who is the source of all wisdom and endowed with history to show them the proper counting. The referral to the ancient woman and her seven children brings memories of childhood days. My grandmother would sit us (my sister, the housegirl, my friends and myself) down, often in the night by the fireside and tell us many stories. It was only my grandmother who could tell us nice, interesting and unblemished stories which my father and mother (both of whom are of recent generation) could not tell. So clearly, it is a fact that the ancient woman is endowed with enormous amount of wisdom.

This novel narrates the African experience for the past two thousand seasons of which a thousand seasons were wasted along lost paths and another thousand utilized for finding paths to the right way. There is no specificity to the place of origin of the story. Instead, the story stands for Africa and its people.

The story tells of the coming of the predators who bring with them destruction. The first predators to arrive are the Arabs and then followed by ‘whites’. The predators appeared as beggars yet used their deceitful ways to deceive the people and use religion to gain dominance.

Whereas people like Koranche was greedy fools and turned the people from the way, others like the Wise Isanusi were there to teach the way and never gave up.

All in all, the story gives hope for victory to the people in spite of the oppression, repression and subjugation of the predators, the Europeans and the Arabs. Armah’s Two Thousand Seasons is a book worth reading.

9 Responses to Two Thousand Seasons – Ayi Kwei Armah

  1. And you know this book is on my all-time favourite list. It is the first Ayi Kwei book that I read and it created a bond between the writer and me. Since then I have virtually hunted down all his books. He is the most reviewed author on my blog.

    Thanks for this

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Certainly aware…And I enjoyed this book so much well and most especially gearing towards the last chapters… Yes, I see he is the most reviewed author there n had it not been for the scarcity of his other books, I am sure you would have read everything by him…lol!

      Like

  2. Linda says:

    From your review, sounds interesting… I have to read this.

    Like

  3. amymckie says:

    The more you talk about this author the more I know I need to find his works. I can’t wait. Sounds like another great story.

    Like

  4. It is an interesting novel,just like the beautiful ones are not yet born.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Nwasiewe, thanks for this comment. I would agree with you…I did enjoy this novel and the Beatyful Ones Are Not Yet Born. Armah, I know, is an extraordinary writer. Thanks for your visit. Keep visiting my blog.

      Like

  5. […] Two Thousand Seasons by Ayi Kwei Armah – The characterization of this book leaves much to desire. I do think this book could make a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

