ImageNations Interviews Caine Prize Shortlisted Writer – Mamle Kabu

ImageNations is a blog founded by a colleague blogger and friend Nana Fredua-Agyeman.

Today, he has interviewed the Caine Prize Shortlisted writer for 2009, Mamle Kabu and I thought it worthwhile to bring this to my dear readers. Mamle Kabu is a Ghanaian writer and her story, ‘The End of Skill’ was the one shortlisted for the tenth edition of the Caine Prize.

In fact, I read this story sometime after reading an interview of Benjamin Kwakye (also a Ghanaian author living abroad) who mentioned the name of Mamle Kabu as one of the young Ghanaian writers producing very good work. And so to summarize how I came to know Mamle Kabu, I would say it was Benjamin Kwakye’s pronouncement that led me to search for her on google and lo and behold, when I had googled her name, I found her Caine shortlisted Story, ‘The End of Skill’ to read.

The very first impression I got after reading the story was that, this writer must be a typical Ghanaian Asante woman, perhaps living in Asante Region where the weaving of Kente (a traditional Ghanaian cloth) is a major occupation of some group of people living there. In fact, the story itself concerns with this trade and I must confess that this story is a delight to read.

Without doubt, I can say that Mamle Kabu is one of the few Ghanaian writers with so much promise and I can’t just wait for her debut novel.

I was so lucky to have come in contact with her just over the weekend at the Accra Mall and I hurriedly approached her. My first question I asked her was that, Are you Mamle Kabu and are you the author of ‘The End of Skill?’ In fact she was surprised and later on I told her how I loved her story. In fact, if it had been for her novel I was holding at that moment I met her, I would have hurriedly pressed her for an autograph. Later on in our conversation, I asked her how she was able to write such an interesting, though-provoking and moving story and I asked her whether she was a typical Asante woman? Her answer was simple: ‘Research,’ she said to me. It is today, after reading her interview at ImageNations that I have come to appreciate her answer given to me. In fact, I’ve learn’t that to be a good writer like her, research work is a big factor.

You can read all about the interview Nana Fredua-Agyeman had with her at ImageNations.

And this interview granted was part of ImageNations quota to the Ghanaian Literature Week being organized by Kinna at Kinna Reads. All Ghanaian bloggers are invited to take part in the Ghanaian Literature Week which runs from November 15 to November, 21.

6 Responses to ImageNations Interviews Caine Prize Shortlisted Writer – Mamle Kabu

  1. Sylvanus Bedzrah says:

    I love this Promising Author…. Can you please link me to her? Thank you.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Sylvanus, I think this writer is one person very active in writers gatherings and meetings. Oh…I even see Nana’s comments there. Hope that finds you well. It’s been a while and I hope you doing well?

      Like

  2. You have met her Bedzrah but you just did not notice. She was the Mariska Taylor’s reading at the Goethe Institute last month and I guess you were there too.

    Like

  3. amymckie says:

    She certainly sounds like a wonderful author, I will be searching out her work. Very cool that you ran in to her at the mall! Too bad you didn’t have her book on you at that moment to get it signed though 🙂

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      She is indeed a wonderful writer, with no doubt. Look out for her short piece, ‘The End of Skill.’ I liked that story so well. She’s a Caine Shortlisted writer but has not yet written a novel. Just waiting for her debut novel and I hope to be the first to have her book autographed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

