A Third World War Against Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children!

I bought this book exactly one dollar as a used book at a ‘second-hand’ bookstore without knowing anything about the author. It was later that I googled the author’s name only to find the numerous awards the book had won. I then quickly started to read it for the first time but lost interest some where 10 pages away – that was my first try. After some 5 months later, I picked it up again only to find myself ignore it at some 20 pages away – my second try.

I suddenly gave up hope but could not pinpoint exactly why I could not penetrate the book. Many readers have given reasons why this book is a difficult read and even so, have said it is too bulky and lengthy. But I could not agree with it length being associated as a difficult read because I had read books as big as the 500 page Booker by Ben Okri – The Famished Road and others. So why?

Well, I am going to read it for the third time and I believe this time round I can sail through because I would be reading it with some friends. And this I call ‘The Third Reading of Midnight Children’ alias The Third World War. This time round, I am waging a big war against the book and hope to read it in two weeks. I am starting off today: Saturday, November 27, 2010 and hope to complete it by December 12, 2010. I am actually participating in a read-along which started off from Friday, November 12 and would be ending on December 12, 2010. This presupposes that I have almost 2 weeks to complete it. I am so late to participate but I certainly know that I will complete it by the set date. This Read-along is organized by JoV. Click here to participate or sign up.

An introduction about the book:

‘Midnight’s Children won both the 1981 Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for the same year. It was awarded the “Booker of Bookers” Prize and the best all-time prize winners in 1993 and 2008 to celebrate the Booker Prize 25th and 40th anniversary. Midnight’s Children is also the only Indian novel on Time’s list of the 100 best English-language novels since its founding in 1923.

Midnight’s Children is a 1981 book by Salman Rushdie about India’s transition from British colonialism to  independence. It is considered an example of postcolonial literature and magical realism. The story is expressed through various characters and is contexted by actual historical events as with historical fiction.

Noted director Deepa Mehta is working on the forthcoming film Midnight’s Children and is collaborating on the screenplay with Rushdie. The casting is still in progress. Mehta has stated that production will begin in September, 2010. (Source: Wikipedia)’

8 Responses to A Third World War Against Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children!

  1. amymckie says:

    Best of luck! I have The Satanic Verses on my tbr shelf but haven’t picked it up yet. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the book, so I hope you can get through it!

    Like

  2. Kinna says:

    Oh, I do hope that you manage to get through a reading of this book. It’s the only Rushdie novel that I adore. But I also understand your issues with the book. Keep us posted on your progress.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Kinna, this is a very big war yet does not involve bombs and guns…lol! Since you’ve said you adore this book, I’m energized to read this. Thanks for this encouragement. I will try and post my progress, maybe.

      Like

  3. Looking forward to reading your thoughts. I haven’t as yet grabbed anything by Rushdie… I would though… change your ‘Currently reading’. it’s misleading…lol

    Like

  4. […] lot of noise about this book before reading it. My first post about the book had the title, ‘A Third World War Against Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children!‘ and the second post came after I had finally read the book but was about my general thoughts […]

    Like

  5. mark sutton says:

    read the book dog – it’s a great book, but unfortunately that is its misfortune. it’s too great and i only wish rushdie would realise that he real cleverness doesn’t have to ‘tell’ itself with every living breath.

    Like

Leave a Reply

