Announcing Books To Be Read For South Asian Challenge!

A couple of weeks ago, I announced my intention to take part in the South Asian Challenge organized by S. Krishna’s Books. This was on my December, 1 post with the heading – South Asian Challenge – 2011.

I promised my readers to come out with my selection of books to be read later on. Well, today, I bring to you the lists of books I will be reading for the challenge.

Note that I chose the South Asian Explorer level where I will be reading a total of five books. I will be reading mostly books by Indian writers and particularly books by Salman Rushdie.

Here is my list:

1. Lahiri, Jhumpa – Unaccustomed Earth

2. Rushdie, Salman – Enchantress of Florence

3. Rushdie, Salman – Fury

4. Rushdie, Salman – Satanic Verses

5. Rusdie, Salman – The Moor’s Last Sigh

6. Rushdie, Salman – Shame

7. Rushdie, Salman – Grimus

8. Rushdie, Salman – East, West

9. Rushdie, Salman – Shalimar the Clown

10. Rushdie, Salman – Haroun and the Sea of Stories

11. Rushdie, Salman – The Ground Beneath her Feet

12. Rushdie, Salman – Luka and the Fire of Life

NB. I will choose and read from any five of the above lists.

4 Responses to Announcing Books To Be Read For South Asian Challenge!

  1. Do you have all these books? One thing with Challenges is that you need to get the books… else you might be disappointed. But I trust you. Enjoy it. I am on an African Reading Challenge.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Yeah…Nana, I get you. It’s true one could be disappointed esp. considering the unavailability of books in Ghana particularly. But with this challenge, I think I’ve armed myself well…lol! Happy reading on the African Challenge too…Will be sneaking in and out on the African challenge.

      Like

  2. JoV says:

    What an impressive list. I have read 1, and would like to read 2, 4, 5, 9 for Rushdie. Actually if I have the chance in this lifetime, I’ll read all of his novels!

    I’m watching this challenge. As soon as I read a novel by South Asian Challenge, I’ll hop over and sign-up. It’s called no-pressure participation or post-reading challenge sign-ups! 😉

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      JoV…I like that term…’No-pressure participation. You had me smile over that. But the truth of the matter is that, after participating in your read-along, I have now got , more edge and confidence to read Rushdie. And it is even as a result of bliss of completing Midnight’s Children that gives me hope that I can equally read all his chuckster novels. I am mostly looking forward to reading The Moor’s Last Sigh and Satanic verses as I’ve heard so many good things above them. And I happy to have a whole year to read only five of his books which is also in itself a ‘No-pressure participation (laughs)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

