On Completing the 2010 Booker Challenge!

It had always been my dream to read every singke booker winning title and this had me sign up for the Booker Challenge.

There were different participation levels for this challenge. But because of accessibility of books here in Ghana, I signed up for the Winners Circle which implied that I read at least six winning titles.

In fact, I made it and even exceeded the least number of books I was suppose to read. All in all, I read eight titles but have reviewed only six of them. I promise to review the remaing sometime soon.

Here are the titles read for the challenge:

1. The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2. Disgrace by J.M Coetzee

3. The God of Small Things by Ahrundhati Roy

4. The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

5. The Famished Road by Ben Okri

6. Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

7. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

8. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

In the year 2011, I look forward to reading more booker nominee books and would not only consentrate on the winning titles.

4 Responses to On Completing the 2010 Booker Challenge!

  1. Kinna says:

    Well done! I admit to thinking about reading more Booker winners and nominees but somehow I never do. I will try and remedy that in 2011!

    Like

  2. amymckie says:

    Congratulations on reading so many Geosi! This is a prize that I’ve never followed much but perhaps I will next year.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      In fact, the first book that started my foray into appreciating literary books was a Booker book – thus – Disgrace and since then I’ve been following the Booker prize. I think prize produces some brilliant books and I would encourage you to follow, thus if you so desire. Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

