Beefing Up My Shelves – JAN. 17, 2011!

After storming some selected bookstores in Accra, I got myself some interesting books. Now, I made sure I acquired equal numbers of African and Non-African books so as to get a balance. Here is a list of the books:

India: A Million Minutes Now by V.S Naipaul – The issue at stake here is that I have never read any book by Naipaul but I have heard a great deal of reviews of some of his major works like the Booker winning book In a Free State and A Bend in a River.

The Book of Not by Tsitsi Dangarembga – If you have been following me, you would realized that I have read and enjoyed her first book, Nervous Conditions; a book that dealt very much with issues of the girl child. The Book of Not is a sequel to Nervous Conditions and so I hope to enjoy this one also.

Last Orders by Graham Swift – By now, you should know my dream to reading every single booker winning book. Last Orders won the 1996 Booker Prize and I hope to enjoy this also and close the gap being the remaining Booker winners to be read.

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding – This book is all over the place and getting good reviews. I would want to find out what it is about it that many readers have come to like it.

Dew in the Morning by Shimmer Chinodya – After reading Harvest of Thorns, I fell in love with this author. This is his first book and I learnt he wrote it at the age of nineteen. I am eager to find out the mind of the then nineteen year old story writer.

A Squatter’s Tale by Ike Oguine – I love Nigerian authors and have read a great deal from Nigerian authors but have not yet read any from this author. ‘Why not try him?’ I asked myself at the bookstore and that led me purchasing this book.

A Cowrie of Hope by Binwell Sinyangwe – This is a novel written by a Zambian. I have not yet touched any book from that country and so I hope to enjoy this one.

I guess I did make good purchasing here? What do you think? Do you have any knowledge about any of these books? I want to hear your thoughts?

4 Responses to Beefing Up My Shelves – JAN. 17, 2011!

  1. Which shops? Silverbird? With Naipaul I would ask you to read A House for Mr Biswas, though I have resolved not to read his travelogue. He has poor appreciation of people who aren’t himself. I also read A Bend in the River but hated all his descriptions.

    I have Dew in the Morning but have not as yet read it. Enjoy the books

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      I see the beef you have with Naipaul from your past posts – perhaps, that’s what made me get his book. I will definitely search for A House for Mr Biswas at a point in time. I got Naipauls, Graham Swift and Bridget Jones’s from The Ghana Book Trust and then the Book of Not from Silverbird and then the African Writers Series from Legon Bookstore which is much closer to me.

      Like

  2. amymckie says:

    Oh wow, what a great list of books here. Quite a few that I will be eagerly watching for the review and probably be adding to my wish list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

