Beefing Up My Shelves – FEB. 7, 2011!

Beefing Up My Shelves – FEB. 7, 2011!

My search to beef up my shelves continues. Over the weekend, I bought two books. I am happy that I am making strides in the kinds of books I like to have on my shelves. However, there are more books I yearn to have and will keep up the search week after week.

The books are as follows:

(A)The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood: By now, you know my dream to read every single book prize book. This is why I acquired The Blind Assassin. I must say that I have not yet read anything from this writer and so this could be my first read. From the back of the book says …a novel that combines elements of gothic drama, romantic suspense, and science fiction fantasy in a spellbinding narrative.’ It is 524 pages long.

(B)African Agenda by Camynta Baezie: I first heard of this book from ImageNations. From the cover of the book says, ‘The African Agenda is a thrill-a-minute novel about African computer hackers who are determined to achieve nuclear disarmament and ingeniously plot to bring Africa together – and perhaps save the world. It is also 503 pages long.

Have you read any of these books? Share your thoughts with me.

4 Responses to Beefing Up My Shelves – FEB. 7, 2011!

  1. amymckie says:

    I’ve only read one Atwood but hooray for more Canadian lit on your shelves 😀 I do hope that you enjoy it!

    Like

  2. I have ready Oryx and Crake by Atwood and you know I loved it very much. She is such an insightful writer. I have to read this and also the Handmaid’s Tales.

    African Agenda is almost like a Ludlum story. It is full of computers and programming. It is thick in plot. Very interesting too but not for the Literary Fiction addicts. One of the first novels I bought when I started reviewing African novels in 2009. I actually met the author in the bookshop so he autographed it for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

