2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Winners Announced!

At last, the long awaited 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Winners has been announced.

I am so much keen about the winners for the Africa region as I have set myself to read every single Commonwealth Writers’ Prize book awarded to Africans. See my Com – Win Project.

The regional prize winners are:

Best Book: The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (Sierra Leone)
Best First Book: Happiness is a four-letter word by Cynthia Jele (South Africa)

Caribbean and Canada:
Best Book: Room by Emma Donoghue (Canada)
Best First Book: Bird Eat Bird by Katrina Best (Canada)

South Asia and Europe:
Best Book: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell (UK)
Best First Book: Sabra Zoo by Mischa Hiller (UK)

South East Asia and Pacific:
Best Book: That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott (Australia)
Best First Book: A Man Melting by Craig Cliff (New Zealand)

The overall winners of Best Book and Best First Book will be announced on 21 May at the Sydney Writers’ Festival (16-22 May).

Visit the Commonwealth Foundation Website to read more on this news.

Congratulations to all the Regional Winners.

5 Responses to 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Winners Announced!

  1. Been keen also… just blogged it…


  2. […] colleague bloggers and book lovers, ImageNations and Geosi Reads were quick to blog about the lists.  More power to them.  The more people who know about these […]


  3. amymckie says:

    Wow, a lot of books that I’ve heard of and none that I’ve read! I will have to try to read a few of these.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: