Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Pet Peeves


Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish featuring a new top ten list each week. This weekly meme is open to all and sundry.

This week’s topic:

Top Ten Bookish Pet Peeves (This includes all those things that annoy you in a story, with book covers, bookstores, etc.)

Here is my list:

1. Book blurbs at the back cover of books that do not tell exactly what is to be expected in books: I often find this with books written by established and well-known writers. Because these writers have already made their names, any book they write is assumed to be excellent, hence those over-exaggerated blurbs we find at the back of their books. At the end, not all those blurbs are true.

2. Government libraries that are not well-stocked: It is a pity that, most contemporary books cannot be found in government libraries in Ghana. Most often, I would like to borrow a novel from the government libraries in my country so as to curtail the cost of purchasing from the bookstores. But the books are not available. You only find old, tattered books that often smell of age.

3. Conflicting pricing of books: I sometime wonder why each and every bookstore in Ghana has its own way of pricing books. Whereas one bookstore may be selling an African novel for say 3 Cedis, it may be going for 4 Cedis in a different bookstore. At the end, I found out that they raise the prices of a particular book if that book is high in demand.

4. Books that are not original copies: Obviously, all books that are not the original copies often have the smaller texts that make reading difficult. I understand that the texts are made small so as to make the book smaller and cheaper.

5. Dull Cover Designs: I am most often drawn to books by their book covers. Yes, you heard me right! Does that look absurd to you? Certainly, it shouldn’t. I like bright, nice designs and dislike those with dull designs – it may pull me away from the book. Never mind, at the end of the day, I still go in for books with dull covers pertaining to book recommendations and good reviews I have heard of the book. Hope I am not confusing you here? Or, am I contradicting myself? Certainly, no!

6. Typos: I have less to say about this because they just bore me to the core.

7. Torn pages in books: This often happens with used books. For God’s sake what if the major action happens in the torn out page(s)?

8. Books with dirty pages and small creeping ants: Again, this happens with used books or old books that have been stacked in the library for a long period of time.

9. Books with poor endings: For God’s sake why should a nice, flowing prose start and end poorly? Should I set an example? Maybe, later. Often, this happens with YA books where all things happen perfectly at the end of the whole story.

10. Expensive books: Books are generally too expensive here in Ghana and to say the least, these are books that are not new releases. This makes it too difficult to acquire more books.

What are your bookish pet peeves? I would be interested in knowing yours?

20 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Book Nympho says:

    I agree with your number 1, sometimes a book doesn’t tell you anything about the plot but there are a ton of reviews and people saying how amazing it is. But what is it about?!?

    Like

  2. I’m guilty of judging a book by it’s cover too. It can make all the difference to entice me to read a new book/author.

    Lack of good stock in libraries is a good one. I can’t afford to buy all my books so I need to rely on libraries a lot.

    I definitely agree about books with poor endings. So disappointing when this happens.

    I can’t stop thinking about the small creeping ants in the used books – I hope that doesn’t happen too often!

    Thanks for sharing your list! It’s fun to rant about these things 🙂

    Like

  3. JoV says:

    Ever since I buy and read only used books, mainly from charity shops and libraries I am used to books with smudges and creases. I don’t have many pet peeves but there are two that I cannot stand. I cannot read books which had been soaked in water where the pages swell like the shape of the Indian Parpadom. I also can’t stand readers who dog-earred their books!

    Like

  4. Bonnie says:

    So many people try not to judge a book by it’s cover or at least not to be attracted to the book because of the cover and this week’s list topic has been showing a lot of people can’t help it. I’m one of them! I don’t like a dull cover either and I will admit, even though I don’t like owning up to it, that I am drawn to books because of their covers. I try not to, but it’s the whole package a lot of the time. I’ll still read a book with a dull cover though.

    As for the books with dirty pages and ants, urgh that’s annoying and it happens too often!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Certainly, although dull covers pulls me away, I would still read them though. Also, just can’t stand those ants and dirty smells. Thanks for passing through.

      Like

  5. Bibliophile says:

    Good list.
    Your no. 1: Even worse are the completely missing blurbs – it’s as if the author’s name is supposed to be enough to make you buy the book.

    No. 8: Familiar, if rare, problem, except around here it’s more likely to be silverfish rather than ants. I buy most of my books second hand, and I have learned to always sniff them to see if there are any nasty smells and leaf through them to check for missing pages. If they smell musty, I also look for signs of silverfish.

    Like

  6. If I have the means I would buy every book new. I hate old books but I have no choice here. Besides, I hate editions. I love to read a book and say I have read and not to be asked ‘which edition was that … because he had removed something from it in that edition’. What’s that. I have Salman Rushdie’s Fury. I thought it was a book I am going to read and enjoy only to realise that it was the Advanced Readers Edition, with a strong warning not to quote anything from it unless it has been checked with the final version. What a waste. So I am not going to read that book. Won’t read only to be told oh! it isn’t the same.

    Like

  7. amymckie says:

    Ahh so many things here that are also annoying to me. Especially the first one!

    Like

  8. jainaxf says:

    I quite like your top, and I completely agree with your number 1, I hate blurbs ! I also quite hate books with poor endings : they stay with you even if the rest of the book was excellent !
    It seems very difficult to be a boolover in your country, I feel sorry for all of you !

    Like

  9. Debnance says:

    Your comments about the problems in Ghana remind me to be grateful for our wonderful libraries and bookstores here. Thank you.

    Like

  10. DJL says:

    I totally agree with your list, especially numbers 3, 5, and 7. We have the same pricing issue in the states, and you really have to shop around to see which one has the best prices for a book. It’s kind of annoying though because there is no standard price on a new book all across the board. Dull covers can make a person skip right over the next great novel, it’s sad but true. And one of my concerns is that when I got to a recycled books store that the book I buy has either several pages torn out in the middle of the book or the last few pages. Stealing the ending away from a reader? Wrong on so many levels! Great list, and thank you for visiting. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Thanks DJL. I am kind of surprise to here that you have the same issue of pricing in the states. I thought it was only in Africa here. Thanks for sharing this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

