The ‘Heart’ Symbol Finds Itsway Into the Oxford English Dictionary

For the first time ever, a graphical element or symbol has found its way into the Oxford English Dictionary.

There have been many controversies surrounding this news as the symbol for ‘heart’ is also the symbol often used for ‘love’. The Oxford English Dictionary is in its 127th year since it first came into being and it is surprising why it has taken all these years before an introduction of this symbol.

Personally, I find the usage of the ‘heart’ symbol quite interesting as it looks to me like the sound of its usage is strange. Perhaps, it is a new introduction and I will try and give you some examples here.

Examples of its usage as explained by the Oxford Dictionary:

1. I ‘heart’ Geosi Reads.

2. I ‘heart’ Ghana.

3. I ‘heart’ my dogs, etc, etc.

So now, don’t ever get it wrong when you hear someone say, ‘I heart you’. Right?

What is your thought on this new entry into the Oxford English Dictionary? I would be interested to know what you make of this. Tell your friends about this news.

10 Responses to The ‘Heart’ Symbol Finds Itsway Into the Oxford English Dictionary

  1. thanks for this. didn’t know or haven’t head it. I guess it would be a mouthful to say this or should I say it would be difficult for the mind to accept it. I can’t find myself saying ‘I heart you’… lol… it might change and that’s when you realise you are growing old: when the younger generation find nothing wrong with it and you squeeze your face when you hear it. My mother would ask ‘what’s email?’ lol

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Very True, Nana. It proves though for the mind to accept it though its usage would be popular with time. I was extremely surprised to hear this news.

      Like

  2. amymckie says:

    I heart it 😉 hehe I couldn’t resist!

    Like

  3. Bibliophile says:

    Hmmmm, if it stops people overusing the word “love”, then I’m all for it. I wonder what system they will use for filing symbols?

    I foretell that text speak will be next.

    Like

  4. Marie says:

    Wow, I have to say I’m surprised. I don’t know how I feel about it! how strange.

    Like

  5. Kinna says:

    I don’t know what to make of this. Really :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

