Beefing Up My Shelves – MAR. 28, 2011!

Joyce Carol Oates is a familiar name to me yet I have not read any full length novel from her offerings. What I have read most from her are her short stories. Missing Mum then becomes her first book I have got for my shelves.

Synopsis of Missing Mum:

Nikki Eaton, single, thirty – one, sexually liberated, and economically self – supporting, has never particularly thought of herself as a daughter. Yet, following the unexpected loss of her mother, she undergoes a remarkable transformation during a tumultuous year that brings stunning horror, sorrow, illumination, wisdom, and even – from an unexpected source – a nurturing love.

About Joyce Carol Oates:

She is a recipient of the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. She is also the recipient of the 2005 Prix Femina for The falls. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University, and she has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978.

What do you know of Joyce Carol Oates? Have I purchased a good book? Let me here your comments.

16 Responses to Beefing Up My Shelves – MAR. 28, 2011!

  1. I haven’t read Oates before though I have heard of her and I wouldn’t hesitate for a second should I come across her novels. In that vein, I think it is a good purchase.

    Like

  2. zibilee says:

    Oates is an author that is extremely prolific, but one that I haven’t tackled as of yet. I will be doing so soon though, as I have one of her books up for review very soon. I hope you enjoy this one!

    Like

  3. blodeuedd says:

    I have actually never read a book by her, horrible I know, but I hear they are good

    Like

  4. Kinna says:

    Joyce is on my list of Contemporary American Women Writers, a reading project for the second half of the year. I;m looking forward to your review of the book.

    Like

  5. winstonsdad says:

    like some of the other commentators I ve yet to try Oakes had german friend that loved her works ,really must try her at some point ,all the best stu

    Like

  6. Bonnie says:

    I hadn’t heard of her before now so can’t help there, but I always found that when it comes to authors who were well known for their short fiction work and who had done well in that area, tended to write really great novels so I always give those sorts of authors a chance and haven’t been disappointed yet.

    I hope you enjoy it.

    Like

  7. Monica says:

    I have yet to read Oates, but keep seeing her pop up everywhere. She’s on my tbr list. I might check out her short stories first.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Nice to know that she’s on your tbr list and I think checking up her short stories before venturing her novels is a good idea. Obviously, that’s what I did as I am prepared to read her novel now. Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

