Top Ten Authors that Deserve More Recognition!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It’s a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.

This week’s topic:

Top Ten Authors That Deserve More Recognition!

My Response:

I am sorry I would not be producing any names more than one author I know he deserves more recognition that you may not think so. If you do not know him or have not known any of his works, take it that I am introducing him to you today and you might want to read more about him here.

My List:

Ayi Kwei Armah (Ghanaian writer)

Do you know of any authors you think they deserve more recognition? Let me hear from you.

22 Responses to Top Ten Authors that Deserve More Recognition!

  1. Sylvanus Bedzrah says:

    You can have a name like Sylvanus Bedzrah… hahahahahhaha …. In some years to come….. YES I CAN!!!

    Like

  2. zibilee says:

    I have not heard of this author, but now I am curious and am going to have to check it out. Thanks for sharing this with me!

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    The author you listed looks interesting. I have added him to my must read list.

    Like

  4. Ayi Kwei Armah is my all-time favourite author. His books is one i can read and re-read and still find it most interesting. If I were to choose a last book to read before leaving this earth, I would love to read Two Thousand Seasons by Ayi Kwei Armah.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Nana, I certainly know your love for Armah and his works…And there’s no denying how much you adore Two Thousand Seasons. Although I am aware that Armah is largely know, I think he deserves even higher and more recognition beyond what he has attained. And you know the saying, as always, ‘Armah lives what he writes’.

      Like

  5. @Bedzrah… you only don’t have to give up…

    Like

  6. Laura says:

    I just looked below your list and saw that you’d just bought a book by Joyce Carol Oates, which makes me happy because she’s on my underappreciated list! It’s funny though, in the UK the book is called Mother, Missing, whereas I think the title Missing Mom is a lot better because it’s a lot more accurate to the story! But anyway, yes. I haven’t heard of your underappreciated author, but I might have to check him out 🙂

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Thanks, Laura for this information. Judging from the title as is in the U.K, it does not sound well for me. The title Missing mother reads more better. I would need to read her to be able to classify her whether she’s good or not. Thanks once again for your comment.

      Like

  7. Stefania says:

    Hey, I’ve reached your blog through Nana’s blog “ImageNations”.

    I also want to read this author now. I have checked in the catalogue of my university’s library and they have both “The Beautiful Ones Are Not Yet Born” and “Two Thousand Seasons”.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Stefania, stay in here! A very big welcome to Geosi Reads. Ayi kwei Armah is a prolific writer and I you would love his works. I am extremely happy that you have those two books in your university’s library. Go ahead and read them and I would be interested to read what you make of them. Cheers!

      Like

  8. Dani @ Born Expat says:

    I hadn’t heard of Armah before, so thanks for introducing me! His works sound really interesting, so I’ll be sure to check him out when I get a chance.

    Like

  9. Evie says:

    You must really like this author since he is the only one on your list! I will definitely check him out, thanks! 🙂

    Like

  10. EL Fay says:

    Thanks for the recommendation. My international reading is so sadly Eurocentric.

    Like

  11. Bonnie says:

    I don’t think it matters if you don’t come up with 10. Just one can make a difference to plenty of readers out there and I for one am going to go check that author out!

    Thanks for sharing Geosi, I’m glad you did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

