Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign!

This is an interesting question. As I go through my book shelves, I see quite a number of book covers I wish I could effect a change to them although they have interesting stories. But I wouldn’t be able to give all ten lists instead, I would give four.

1. A Grain of Wheat by Ngugi Wa Thiong’o

This is an excellent book by all standards and having known Ngugi for his writing capabilities, I dare say, I did not like the cover of the book. In fact, had it not been for the name of the author on the book, I would have passed by the book the very first time I saw it in the bookstore. And this would have meant that, I would have passed by a good book.

2. No Easy Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela

My copy of this book is published by Heinemann. I think the publishers would have done the book a good favour by capturing the picture of Nelson Mandela on the front cover. I did not like the cover colour too – It looks too dull for my liking.

3. Iron Weed by William Kennedy

This particular book did not attract me at all. I think it has something to do with the colour design – too pale and dull.

4. Second-Class Citizen by Buchi Emecheta

I like the colour combinations but the design is not appealing to me. But Emecheta is an extremely good writer.

So what about you? What book covers do you wish to redesign? Let me here from you!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This meme was created because we are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

20 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign!

  1. zibilee says:

    Oh these covers are all really bad, and I can see why you would want to redesign them! I hate it when a wonderful book has a horrible cover, and have been known to buy multiple copies of a badly covered book in hopes of getting a reprint with a better cover. I also hate it when a cover has nothing to do with the actual material inside the book. It frustrates me to no end. Great post today!

    Like

  2. Monica says:

    I agree with you. Goodness, the 1st and 2nd are awful.

    Like

  3. You have taken interesting covers. Some of those do need to be redesigned! Some covers are So trashy! I have posted about that.

    Here is my Top Ten post!

    Like

  4. winstonsdad says:

    agree some of the African writers series covers are terrible ,shame there good books on whole with bad covers ,all the best stu

    Like

  5. I agree with you about these covers. They could definitely be improved. I know I’m guilty of judging books by their covers. But maybe I’m missing out on some great books!

    Like

  6. Laura says:

    I don’t find any of these particularly offensive, but I think it is because I am really attracted to bright colors.

    Here is my list: http://hawthornescarlet.blogspot.com/2011/04/top-ten-tuesday-stop-embarassing-me.html

    Like

  7. кєяo says:

    Great picks fro redesigning. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  8. I agree with all your choices. I would not buy A Grain of Wheat with such an absurd design. Who did that? I have some bad covers in my list. Covers are important for authors who are about to break into the market. Once they are in, it is the name that sells.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Nana, very, very absurd. I nearly passed by this book. I wish something better could be done about it. The point you make about authors and they breaking into the market with book covers is absolutely true.

      Like

  9. I wonder if these books are aiming at the male reading audience. It certainly does not seem to appeal to me!

    Like

  10. Kinna says:

    Thank you for this. All the covers of the African Writers Series by Hienemann/Pearson and also those published by Longmann should have been canned and immediately redesigned. They have notoriously bad covers and it has irked me for years. Bad, bad, bad publishers!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Kinna, you’re on point. I wish Hienemann could do something about their covers all else they would be killing the spirit of readers who patronize their books. Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

