Aminatta Forna – Africa’s Only Hope!

On 12 April 2011, the Orange Prize for Fiction announced the 2011 shortlist. Celebrating its sixteenth anniversary this year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.

Aminatta Forna, author of ‘The Memory of Love’ proves to be the only African representative in the shortlist announced. She therefore becomes Africa’s only hope to win the award this year. Geosi Reads wishes her the very best!

From the shortlist are:

  • Emma Donoghue (Irish) – Room; Picador; 7th Novel
  • Aminatta Forna (British/Sierra Leonean) – The Memory of Love; Bloomsbury; 2nd Novel
  • Emma Henderson (British) – Grace Williams Says it Loud; Sceptre; 1st Novel
  • Nicole Krauss (American) – Great House; Viking; 3rd Novel
  • Téa Obreht (Serbian/American) – The Tiger’s Wife; Weidenfeld & Nicolson; 1st Novel
  • Kathleen Winter (Canadian) – Annabel; Jonathan Cape; 1st Novel

Find the full announcement here.

4 Responses to Aminatta Forna – Africa’s Only Hope!

  1. Adura Ojo says:

    Haven’t read the book yet, but I’ve heard good things about it. I hope she wins. Nice blog you’ve got here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: