Beefing Up My Shelves – AUG. 9, 2011

I have been slow to reading and reviewing of late, I must admit. However, that would not deter me from ‘beefing up my shelves’. Here are some few books acquired or sent to me:

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe. I particulary went in for this because I have one last Coetzee book to read from my shelves – thus – Foe, which is loosely based on Defoe’s Crusoe.

The next is Eno’s Story by Ayodele Olofintuade published by Cassava Republic.

The next book is titled The Adventures of Kobi Badu-Smith by Dr. Mary A. Ashun and also published by Kente Publishing. It is a science adventure series for children based on a boy hero called Kobby Badu-Smith.

The last book is titled Mistress of the Game by Asabea Ashun. This book is published by Kente Publishing.

What do you make of these books? Have you read any?

12 Responses to Beefing Up My Shelves – AUG. 9, 2011

  1. zibilee says:

    Robinson Caruso is supposed to be an excellent read. I think I may have it around here somewhere. I hope that you get time to read it, and that you enjoy all your new additions!

    Like

  2. Read Robinson Crusoe almost twenty-years ago when I was in Junior Secondary (or Junior High, now). I enjoyed it tremendously. I have just posted a review of Eno’s Story.

    Enjoy the readings.

    Like

  3. Sarah Norman says:

    Oh goodness, I keep meaning to read ROBINSON CRUSOE. I bet it is really of its time though – I am a bit worried it will be unpleasant because he will be rude and awful to his servant in a nineteenth century way! Do you know, by the way http://www.gutenberg.net? Tons and tons of books that are out of copyright, and lots from the nineteenth century x

    Like

  4. Vishy says:

    I have been lurking by your blog for a while, Geosi and today I thought I should put my lurking aside and comment 🙂 Your blog looks wonderful and I love the kind of books you read. I am hoping to find many wonderful reading suggestions from your reviews, booklists and interviews.

    I loved the title of your post – ‘Beefing up my shelves’ 🙂 I read Daniel Defoe’s ‘Robinson Crusoe’ when I was in school and I loved it. There is a character called ‘Friday’ in the book and I think the phrase ‘Man Friday’ came from this book. Hope you enjoy reading it. I haven’t heard of the other books that you have written about, but they all look wonderful! I like the cover of ‘Mistress of the Game’. I am tempted to read it. I would love to hear your thoughts on it, whenever you get around to reading it.

    Happy Reading!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      I am glad you’ve added your voice here. Thanks for the nice compliments. I have loosely heard stories from friends about Robinson Crusoe and they all seem to be talking about this ‘Friday’ you telling me about. Thanks for building my interest to get reading it. Cheers!

      Like

  5. stujallen says:

    great selection Geosi ,I like title of eno stories ,look forward to hearing more about it ,all the best stu

    Like

  6. Kinna says:

    Nice and diverse list. I also have Eno’s Story and I hope to read it soon. Happy reading and don’t worry about the pace. We are both in the same boat, I think :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

