Reading South African Literature!

Ever since I got around to reading books by J.M Coetzee, I got the edge to read more South African Literature. I am planning on creating a database of South African Literature on this blog where I would gather all books read about South Africa or by South African writers. But before I get to starting this project, I would need your recommendations. Just drop your recommendations in the commentary box and I would be glad!

12 Responses to Reading South African Literature!

  1. Underground People by Lewis Nkosi
    AmaZulu by Walton Golightly
    Praying Mantis by Andre Brink
    Before I forget by Andre Brink
    Mine Boy by Peter Abrahams

    Nadine Gordimer (she’s a Nobelist, you know that) etc…

    Thought you’d read enough SA Lit. Perhaps you have to create a database of all your readings on country basis…

    Like

  2. Nina Chachu says:

    Nunn, Malla: A beautiful place to die (her first novel) + Let the dead lie

    Like

  3. amymckie says:

    Fantastic idea Geosi 🙂 I’ve not read a lot though I have quite a few titles on my tbr pile. I would recommend Alan Paton and Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela (nonfiction).

    Like

  4. winstonsdad says:

    great idea been a while since i read a south african books will move some up pile to read for your database ,i ve a couple of brinks ,brytensbach ,gordimer of top of my head sure I ve a few more some where ,all the best stu

    Like

  5. JoV says:

    The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer. I haven’t read it, but some day I would. Hope you do too.

    Like

  6. Kinna says:

    I recommend The Cry of Winnie Mandela by Njabulo Ndebele. Anything by Zakes Mda, Sindiwe Magona and Miriam Tlali. I;m thinking of doing a South African reading project next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

