The New Face of the Commonwealth Writers’ Awards

I received an email on changes to be altered to the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Competition and to which I would like to share with all my avid readers.

Just to let you know, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize was twenty five years old this year and the Commonwealth Short Story competition has remained largely unchanged since 1996. According to the foundation, ‘to bring these two prestigious awards into the 21st Century we’re modernising and re-launching both prizes, as part of the Foundation’s cultural programme, under the new banner of Commonwealth Writers – A World of New Fiction.’

To highlight a few of the changes, there will no longer be a Best Book award. Also, the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will be awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000 – 5,000 words).

To read more on this information, visit

2 Responses to The New Face of the Commonwealth Writers’ Awards

  1. amymckie says:

    That’s a fun new logo. I’m sad there’s not going to be a Best Book award anymore though!


  2. You’ve taken the wind out of my sail. I set to talk about this when they open for submissions. But it’s all good. Great. I guess I might enter the short fiction category. Let’s see.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: