Visiting Actual Places where Coetzee’s Disgrace is Set!

Disgrace by J.M Coetzee

I am currently in the Eastern Cape, where J.M Coetzee’s Booker winning book, Disgrace, is partly set. To be honest with you, Eastern Cape boasts of a beautiful landscape. Lucy (a female character in the novel) lived in the town of Salem on the Grahamstown-Kenton road in the Eastern Cape. I am currently based in the town of Lusikisiki, also in the Eastern Cape.

To get a clear picture of how majority of the people in Eastern Cape live, here is a brief passage:

‘His daughter’s smallholding is at the end of a winding dirt track some miles outside the town: five hectares of land, most of it arable, a wind-pump, stables and outbuildings, and a low, sprawling farmhouse painted yellow, with a galvanized-iron roof and a covered stoep. The front boundary is marked by a wire fence and clumps of nasturtiums and geraniums; the rest of the front is dust and gravel.’ Disgrace, Chapter 7, Pg. 59

I am loving the place and the people and trying hard to learning their language – Xhosa. At least I have learnt to say Bhuti (Brother) and Sisi (Sister). I would be bringing you more updates.

10 Responses to Visiting Actual Places where Coetzee’s Disgrace is Set!

  1. Can you post up some pictures please?

    Like

  2. zibilee says:

    This is so cool! Disgrace was one of the most amazing books I have read in a long time, and even seeing that version of the cover on your post today makes me a little teary. I can’t wait for more updates!

    Like

  3. more pictures…guess you’re having great time.

    Like

  4. Adura Ojo says:

    Sounds like you’re having a good time over there. I hope to read Coetzee soon.

    Like

  5. Kinna says:

    I was discussing your trip with my mother today. We think a literary journey is something special. Enjoy yourself. All the best.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Very, very special… I am really enjoying myself. And you know Coetzee is one of my top most favorite authors of all time. There is no reason coming to S.A without visiting the places where Disgrace is set.

      Like

Leave a Reply

