Beefing Up My Shelves!

It’s been a while since I posted about the books I buy from the bookshop or those that are gifted to me by friends or those that are given to me by authors. Here are some few books collected over the past weeks:

Writing Now edited by Irene Staunton: This is a collection of short stories. The book blurb reads: A sequel to the award-winning Writing Still, this new collection of stories paints an engaging – and sometimes challenging – picture of contemporary life and concerns in Zimbabwe. Thanks to my colleague blogger, friend and writer Novuyo Rosa Tshuma at Writerdelic for this.

The Boy Next Door by Irene Sabatini: I loved this book on my first read. I could not reject it when it was offered to me, again, by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma. I am planning on a second reading. I had a wonderful interview with Sabatini earlier on this year.

Death and the King’s Horseman by Wole Soyinka: This is a short play of some 84 pages. I have not read much from Soyinka so this is a welcome addition to my ever-growing library.

Down 2nd Avenue by Es’kia Mphahlele: This book caught my attention and I could not turn back. It is Mphahlele’s personal account of his struggle for identity and dignity in the face of the discriminatory policies of the South African government. Mphahlele was nominated for the Nobel Prize for Literature for his novel The Wanderers (1968).

The Chicken Thief by Fiona Leonard: I was reading and enjoying this book when I lost it to viruses on my laptop. Thanks to the author for getting me a new copy.

Have you read any of these books? Have you come across any of them? Let me hear from you!

5 Responses to Beefing Up My Shelves!

  1. zibilee says:

    I have not heard of any of these books, but they all sound like great additions! I just love getting new books, and know just how exciting it is to get the chance to beef up your shelves! Thanks for sharing these with us! I will be excited to hear what you think of all of them!

    Like

  2. I’ve had the Sabatini novel on my list for awhile, but none of the others. I’ll look forward to reading your thoughts on them!

    Like

  3. amymckie says:

    Eecks sorry to hear about the viruses – never fun. Sounds like some really great books, and I’m especially interested to see your thoughts on The Chicken Thief!

    Like

Leave a Reply

