Interview with American Poet & Musician Stephen Kampa

Photo Credit: Teresina Lyman

Photo Credit: Teresina Lyman

Brief Biography: Stephen Kampa was born in Missoula, MT in 1981 and grew up in Daytona Beach, FL.

Geosi Gyasi: How do you split your time as a teacher, writer and musician?

Stephen Kampa: It can be difficult. I can say with certainty that when I’m teaching, my students are my priority; in fact, this summer I’ve been working on an essay about teaching, love, and Theodore Roethke. On the whole, though, I’m still trying to find a balance when it comes to the time each of those roles demands, as well as a way to harmonize those parts of myself into a single coherent identity.

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

One Response to Interview with American Poet & Musician Stephen Kampa

  1. To be honest I’ve never much liked the sound of the harmonica, but still it was an interesting interview. I agree with what Kampa said (via W.S. Merwin) about writing, about never being sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

