Interview with American Poet & Songwriter/Singer, R.G Evans

Photo Credit: Mark Hillringhouse

Photo Credit: Mark Hillringhouse

Brief Biography:

R.G. Evans’s debut collection Overtipping the Ferryman won the 2013 Aldrich Poetry Prize.  His poems, stories, and reviews have appeared in Rattle, Paterson Literary Review, Tenebres (France) and Weird Tales, among other places.

Geosi Gyasi: Let’s begin the interview this way. You’re a poet and songwriter/singer. Which of them came first into your life?

R.G. Evans:  I have to say I got involved in both around the same time, when I was a teenager.  I began to write songs and poems in high school, but I had been playing guitar and singing for several years before I wrote my first poem, so if I think of it as a race, I suppose my singing/songwriting beat my poetry writing by a couple of lengths.

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

2 Responses to Interview with American Poet & Songwriter/Singer, R.G Evans

  1. Kathy says:

    What a nice in-depth interview of RG Evans! Although Evans might be reluctant to say it, as a teacher, he is an inspiration to a whole new generation of would-be poets–his students–as well as an incredibly gifted teacher.

    Like

  2. Much luck to the book in finding new readers! An interesting interview…

    Like

Leave a Reply

