Interview with Joy Gaines-Friedler, Author of “Dutiful Heart”

Photo: Joy Gaines-Friedler

Photo: Joy Gaines-Friedler

Biography:

Joy Gaines-Friedler is the author of two full length collections of poetry, Like Vapor (Mayapple Press, 2008) which was among the press’s top seller…

Geosi Gyasi: How do you end a poem?

Joy Gaines-Friedler: My poems tend to end on an image. I like a poem to open up at the end. I don’t make summary statements at the end of my poems – I let the images create or deepen meaning. That being said, I will sometimes end on a statement – but a statement that opens up thought.

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

One Response to Interview with Joy Gaines-Friedler, Author of “Dutiful Heart”

  1. Bea Rowe says:

    This interview helps to see you illuminated. Your honesty is clarafyling. I want to know you better and better. Does this seem off base to you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

