A Conversation With The Double Commonwealth Award Winner – Benjamin Kwakye

Biography:

Born in Accra, Ghana, Benjamin Kwakye attended the Presbyterian Secondary School (Presec), Dartmouth College and Harvard Law School.

GR: From the brief biography I have said about you, is there anything else that has escaped me? Would you like to add anything?

BK:  I like it.  It is succinct and to the point.  The only thing I’d like to add is that at some point I also dabbled in journalism when I reviewed African titles and interviewed African writers on Window to Africa Radio in the Chicago area.

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Literary Press.

21 Responses to A Conversation With The Double Commonwealth Award Winner – Benjamin Kwakye

  1. linda says:

    Wow! What an intense interview! Geosi, I promised to get my copy of The Clothes of Nakedness. I have but yet to read. I think his responses gives me more edge to read him. I will, very soon and will tell you my thoughts. Double Commonwealth Award Winner??? Great!

    Like

  2. amymckie says:

    What a great interview Geosi! So much food for thought. I really can’t wait to pick up these books myself.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Yes…I would certainly agree with you…there’re many many things to pick from this. In fact, Kinna has reviewed his book, ‘The Other Crucifix’ and she instantly liked it. Nana has also promised to do so and so I would be looking forward to yours…lol!

      Like

  3. Interesting interview. I enjoyed reading it. Covered almost everything.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Nana, as I always say, I often want to get the inside-out of these inspiring writers to my readers. In fact, I must also commend you for that wonderful interview with Mamle Kabu. Thanks for this comment.

      Like

  4. Bridget Nkansah says:

    I admire this writer for one thing: interesting hw he makes times for writing aside his other job. Geosi, I like this interview. Great work here!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Thank you Bridget. In fact, to buttress your point, he said people find time for all kinds of hobbies and I guess his is writing. You get that point…lol!

      Like

  5. Sylvanus Bedzrah says:

    I have not yet read any of his works but just by reading this interview, I am going to the mall tomorrow morning to grab his books and enjoy. I have just added him to my favourite writer and my Mentor.Great Achievement by winning that enviable award TWICE!!!

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Sylvanus, I hope you do so. He is one author I suppose you would enjoy his books. Just a note: you would only get ‘The Other Crucifix’ at the Mall and then ‘The Clothes of Nakedness’ at any E.P.P bookstore. Let me here your comments once you read them. Thanks for this comment.

      Like

  6. Sena says:

    very interesting interview u’ve got here, Geosi

    Like

  7. philip says:

    a wonderful interview and great insight!

    Like

  8. janerl says:

    great interview,he is indeed a good writer

    Like

  9. Patricia says:

    Good work done Geosi. Seriously, we need more of Benjamin Kwakye in the country.

    Like

  10. Torgbui Michael says:

    Great interview with great insights. Hope I get a copy of the Clothes of Nakedness.
    Again from the interview though not having read Clothes of Nakedness, I think the probable reason why Mystique Mysterious still lived with almost total impunity in the society might be because the writer as he said wants mankind to be aware that evil still lurks in the dark and its not absent hence man’s (am using it in a generic sense) requirement that his actions be marked by keen caution and watchful prudence. Perhaps when evil totally disappears from the earth, humans will no longer respect that need to make provision for their safety and issues of safety will be left to his gross indifference. As someone would say that adversity introduces a man to himself, perhaps a total absence of evil will also equate to total absence of creativity and invention on the part of man.

    Like

    • Geosi says:

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts even when you’ve not yet read it. You can visit any E.P.P bookstore for a copy. I would be glad to read your thoughts after reading it.

      Like

  11. […] See my interview with Benjamin Kwakye here. […]

    Like

Leave a comment