Interview with Dan Albergotti, Author of Millennial Teeth

Photo Credit: Holley Tankersley

Photo Credit: Holley Tankersley

Brief Biography:

Dan Albergotti is the author of The Boatloads (BOA Editions, 2008) and Millennial Teeth (Southern Illinois University Press, 2014), as well as a limited-edition chapbook, The Use of the World (Unicorn Press, 2013).

Geosi Gyasi: Do you have literary influences?

Dan Albergotti: There are some writers that I deeply admire and try to emulate: John Keats, Elizabeth Bishop, Thomas Hardy, Philip Larkin, Brigit Pegeen Kelly, Larry Levis, Jack Gilbert. I’m sure there are more whose influence on my work is equally strong and I just can’t recognize it. One of my favorite definitions of a writer is by Saul Bellow: “A writer is a reader moved to emulation.”

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

Leave a comment