Interview with Teresa Mei Chuc, Author of Keeper of the Winds

Photo: Teresa Mei Chuc

Photo: Teresa Mei Chuc

Brief Biography:

Teresa Mei Chuc was born in Saigon, Vietnam and immigrated to the U.S. under political asylum with her mother and brother shortly after the Vietnam War while her father remained in a Vietcong “reeducation” camp for nine years.

Geosi Gyasi: Do you write from personal experiences?

Teresa Mei Chuc: I think that I write from personal, universal, natural and human experiences. I believe that our most intimate and personal spaces reflect the greater story of humanity, the earth and the universe. So, the deeper I look inside myself, the further and wider I reach into the world.

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

Leave a comment