Interview with American Writer, Eric Paul Shaffer

Photo Credit: Mathew Ursua

Photo Credit: Mathew Ursua

Brief Biography:

ERIC PAUL SHAFFER is author of five books of poetry, including Lāhaina Noon; Living at the Monastery, Working in the Kitchen; and Portable Planet.

Geosi Gyasi: From Wikipedia, you’ve been described as a Hawaiian novelist and poet. Could you spend some time talking about Hawai’i?

Eric Paul Shaffer: Hawai’i is a vibrant and exciting place for me, the end of a long journey moving mostly west.  I was born in Massachusetts and as a child and young man lived in Maryland, Michigan, Indiana, New Mexico, and California.  Then, I moved to Okinawa, Japan, for my first job as a university teacher, where I lived for eight years.  Only then, did I start east again, but I traveled only halfway back across the Pacific, settling in Hawai’i, a place that includes the best of the East and the West…

The rest of the interview will be available in my forthcoming book (2016) by Lamar University Press Books.

 

2 Responses to Interview with American Writer, Eric Paul Shaffer

  1. Carol Maniaci says:

    Dear Mr. Shaffer,
    Thank you for sharing you knowledge of writing with all of your students, including me. I have learnd alot.
    Mahalo.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Corney Press and commented:
    An Inspiring interview!

    Like

Leave a Reply

